Skip to main content

MyNCBI and you!: Managing NIH Public Access Compliance

Learn more about MyNCBI tools and how they collaborate with your eRA Commons account!

Managing NIH Public Access Policy Compliance

The My NCBI My Bibliography feature allows users to see whether their publications comply with the NIH Public ACcess Policy, to start the compliance process for articles, and to associate their publication to NIH extramural awards.

To start, you'll need to ensure you have a linked account between eRA Commons and My NCBI.  To learn more about how to do this, visit the My NCBI and you homepage.

Creating a PDF Awards Compliance Report in My NCBI

My Bibliography was recently enhanced to include an option to generate a PDF format report.  The is PDF option is a continuation page of form PHS 2590 to help eRA Commons users report publications.


To learn more about the PDF Compliance Report Generation, visit the NLM Technical bulletin on this enhancement.

Using the Award View to Manage Compliance

My Bibliography includes a display option titled "Award View."  When viewing your publication list under this display, compliance status will be listed for each publication on your list through the use of color-coded dots.  Green means a paper is complete and compliant; Yellow indicates the paper is in process; Red means an article is non-compliant.  Papers that have unknown funding source are denoted with a question mark while papers where the NIH Policy does not apply are marked as N/A.


To learn more about the Award View in My NCBI, visit the My NCBI Help Manual.

Associating funding with a paper

Award associations for any paper included in your publications list can be made via My NCBI's My Bibliography.  Account holders are able to associate any grant with citations in their My Bibliography by searching for the award My Bibliography collections will be automatically updated when another adds their grant to a citation and additionally, users can filter their publication lists by award association.

To learn more, visit the NLM Technical Bulletin on recent changes to the Award features.

Using MyNCBI's My Bibliography to perform NIH Public Access Policy Compliance Tasks

Subject Guide

Arnold Library's picture
Arnold Library
Contact:
Weintraub Building
Mailstop: B1-010
x.4314
Website

Additional Resources

My NCBI Help Manual

  • Includes step-by-step instructions for using My NCBI including the Compliance components of the My Bibliography feature.

NIH Video on My Bibliography: Public Access Compliance

  • A short introductory video on using My Bibliography to manage compliance.