Skip to main content

Grants and Funding: Funded Awards

Search for grants and funding opportunities or research previously funded projects. Coverage includes governmental agencies and private funders.

NIH Grants 1993 to Present - RePorter

Date and Agency coverage in RePORTER as of November 14, 2017.  Check the RePORTER FAQ for more up-to-date information.

 

The RePORT Expenditures and Results, RePORTER system, is an electronic tool that allows users to search a repository of both intramural and extramural NIH-funded research projects from the past 25 years.

RePORTER includes information on research projects funded by the NIH as well as the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Administration for Children and Family (ACF), and U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA).  The information found in RePORTER is drawn from several extant databases–eRA databases, Medline, PubMed Central, the NIH Intramural Database, and iEdison-using linkages among these disparate data sources. The comprehensiveness of these databases varies, as does the quality of the linkages formed among them. 

NIH Grants 1985 to present - ExPorter

ExPORTER was created to provide raw data for those who would like to conduct detailed analyses of the research projects found in RePORTER or load these records into their own data systems.   Currently ExPORTER covers funding from 1985 to present

NIH Grants 1970 to 2009 - CRISP Database

The CRISP system was the predecessor to RePORTER. CRISP Legacy data files are available for download at https://exporter.nih.gov/CRISP_Catalog.aspx and include grants funded as early as FY 1970. CRISP files contain fewer data fields than ExPORTER files.

Pre-1970 NIH Grants & Awards

Information about where to find records of NIH grant funded research from 1948 - present is listed below and can also be found here https://history.nih.gov/research/sources_research_grants.html

Full text of many of the documents listed here are available via the HathiTrust digital library.

SOURCES FOR INFORMATION U.S., NATIONAL INSTITUTES OF HEALTH, DIVISION OF RESEARCH GRANTS

Research Grants Awarded by the Public Health Service, by David E. Price, suppl. 205 to the Public Health Reports, revised 1948, addendum 1949. Includes all NIH grants back to 1946; NCI grants back to 1938.

PHS Research Grants in Aid, 1948 (PDF - 1.7MB)

Research Grants and Fellowships Awarded by the National Institutes of Health of the Public Health Service, September 2, 1949 Through August 31, 1950, by Ernest M. Allen (Washington, D.C.: Public Health Service Publication No. 63, 1951).

Research Grants and Fellowships Awarded by the National Institutes of Health of the Public Health Service, from Fiscal Year 1951 Funds, by Ernest M. Allen (Washington, D.C.: Public Health Service Publication No. 164, 1952).

Public Health Service Research Grants and Fellowships Awarded from Fiscal Year 1952 Funds(Washington, D.C.: Public Health Service Publication No. 289, 1953).

Research Grants and Fellowships Awarded by the Public Health Service, Fiscal Year 1953 Funds (Washington, D.C.: Public Health Service Publication No. 339, 1954).

Research Grants and Fellowships Awarded by the Public Health Service, Fiscal Year 1954 Funds (Washington, D.C.: Public Health Service Publication No. 423, 1955).

Research Grants and Fellowships Awarded by the Public Health Service, Fiscal Year 1955 Funds (Washington, D.C.: Public Health Service Publication No. 469, 1956).

Research Grants and Fellowships Awarded by the Public Health Service, Fiscal Year 1956 Funds (Washington, D.C.: Public Health Service Publication No. 532, 1957).

Research Grants and Awards, National Institutes of Health, Fiscal Year 1957 Funds(Washington, D.C.: Public Health Service Publication No. 571, 1958).

Public Health Service Grants and Fellowships Awarded by the National Institutes of Health, Fiscal Year 1958 Funds (Washington, D.C.: Public Health Service Publication No. 624, 1959).

Public Health Service Grants and Awards by the National Institutes of Health, Fiscal Year 1959, Part I: Health Facilities Construction and Research Projects (Washington, D.C.: Public Health Service Publication No. 701, Part I, 1960).

Public Health Service Grants and Awards by the National Institutes of Health, Fiscal Year 1960, Part I: Health Facilities Construction and Research Projects (Washington, D.C.: Public Health Service Publication No. 777, Part I, 1961).

Public Health Service Grants and Awards by the National Institutes of Health, Fiscal Year 1961, Part I: Health Facilities Construction and Research Projects (Washington, D.C.: Public Health Service Publication No. 883, Part I, 1962). Also for 1960-1961 the first edition of a new format was issued. For the years 1960-1975, the citation is (with changing dates for each year): U.S., National Institutes of Health, Division of Research Grants.

Research Grants Index, Fiscal Year 1961 (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, n.d.). From 1976-1987, the title changed to Research Awards Index. Since 1988, the title has been Biomedical Index to PHS-Supported Research.

Information about awards in the RePORT. The Research Portfolio Online Report Tools data replaced the CRISP database in 2010.

Research.gov - NSF & NASA Research Spending & Results

Research.gov is a partnership of federal research-oriented grant making agencies (NSF, NASA, Defense Research Agencies, and USDA/CSREES ). NSF and NASA award information includes: amount and recipient, awardee location and research location, abstract, citations of journals published

USA Spending

USASPENDING.GOV

​​The Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act of 2006 (FFATA) was signed into law on September 26, 2006. The legislation required that federal contract, grant, loan, and other financial assistance awards of more than $25,000 be displayed on a searchable, publicly accessible website, USAspending.gov, to give the American public access to information on how their tax dollars are being spent. As a matter of discretion, USAspending.gov also displays certain federal contract​s of more than $3,000. The initial site went live in 2007.

Federal agencies are required to report the name of the entity receiving the award, the amount of the award, the recipient’s location, the place of performance location, as well as other information. In 2008, FFATA was amended by the Government Funding Transparency Act to require prime recipients to report details on their first-tier sub-recipients for awards made as of October 1, 2010.

In February 2014, the Office of Management and Budget designated the Department of Treasury responsible for operating and supporting USAspending.gov. Treasury’s Bureau of the Fiscal Service is administering this responsibility on behalf of Treasury. The Bureau of the Fiscal Service relaunched USAspending.gov in March 2015 with improvements to the site’s usability, presentation, and search, including a re-organization of how the data is presented. For example, the major data components are the Spending Map, theAgency Profiles, and the State/Territory Summaries. For more information on these components, see What You Can Do On T​he Site.

Read the full legislation. Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act 

Read the Amendment. Government Funding and Transparency Act