Skip to main content

Citation and Paper Management Tools: Bookends

How to use tools for managing your a collection of citations or journal articles.

What is Bookends?

Bookendslogo

 

 

Bookends

 

Bookends is a Mac only citation database that allows you to:

  • Do online searches and attach PDFs and images to the citation.
  • Use Reference cross-links which show the relationship between articles and allows you to leave notes/thoughts for later.
  • Syncronize your library between home, work, and group members.

Why use Bookends?

  • Bookends sync feature allows your database to be where you are.
  • Reference linking allows you to make notes and show connections, just like old fashion notecards.
  • Works with several different word processors.

Getting Started

Bookends is a client-based Mac only software program. To purchase, contact the Fred Hutch Purchasing department for current pricing or purchase directly from Sonny Software.

System Requirements:

  • Intel Macs and Mac OS X 10.7 or later

Compatible word processors:

  • Word 2011 & 2016
  • Mellel (including Live Bibliography, updating of citations and bibliographies as you type)
  • Nisus Writer Pro
  • Apple Pages
  • Nisus Writer Pro
  • Libre/OpenOffice Writer 4

Using Bookends

Online Search - Bookends allows you to search and upload from many online sources including PubMed and Web of Science. 

Attachments - You can attach a PDF, webpage, or anything you like to the citation in Bookends.

Tag Clouds - Tag clouds allow you to see terms associated with the article at a glance.  The more frequent the term the bigger and brighter the it is.

Reference Cross-Linking - Linking your references allows you to see relationships easily and allows you to make comments,  notes about a particular quote, or type something that may be helpful later.

Sync - You can synchronize your database with other members of your group or between devices.

Bookend's provides video tutorials for some of these functions.

Subject Guide

Arnold Library's picture
Arnold Library
Contact:
Weintraub Building
Mailstop: B1-010
x.4314
Website

Bookends Help & Training

Need Assistance? Sonny Software provides:

 

Or contact the libary at library@fredhutch.org or x4314.