Skip to main content

Citation and Paper Management Tools: EndNote & EndNote Web

How to use tools for managing your a collection of citations or journal articles.

What are EndNote and EndNote Web?

EndNote for Windows and Macintosh is a valuable all-in-one tool that integrates the following tasks into one program:

  • Search bibliographic databases on the Internet
  • Organize references, images, PDFs and other files
  • Watch the bibliography and figure list appear as you write
  • Collaborate using End Note Web, the Web-based research and writing component of EndNote

 

EndNote Web delivers tools to:

  • Search online resources
  • Save ISI Web of Knowledge records directly to an only library
  • Collect and organize references
  • Format citations and footnotes or a bibliography

Why use EndNote or EndNote Web

  • EndNote and EndNote Web are both compatible with Mac and Windows OS. 
  • Cite While You Write is compatible with Microsoft Word, OpenOffice and Apple iPages '09
  • EndNote Web allows video capture from YouTube
  • Integration of EndNote and EndNote web allows access to your database from anywhere.

Getting Started

EndNote is a client-based software program, and is available to Fred Hutch staff via Center IT's Software Licensing catalog.

EndNote Web is a free, web-based companion to EndNote.  To register for an account, visit MyEndNoteWeb.com,

Several versions of EndNote for both PC and Mac are available for use in the Arnold Library's Shared Resources Computer Lab

​EndNote loves both the Windows and Macintosh platforms. Check compatibility and systems requirements see if your current systems and programs are EndNote-ready. 

"Find Full Text" Settings for Fred Hutch

Use the Find Full Text command in EndNote to retrieve the full-text articles (PDF) of references already in your EndNote library. By default, this feature will find publicly available or Open Access articles. 

Fred Hutch settings: 

Open URL Path: https://rf9xu5rz6p.search.serialssolutions.com/ (check OpenURL if it is not checked by default)

Authenticate with URL: https://login.fhcrc.idm.oclc.org/login

 

Using EndNote

Start building your library- There are several ways to add to your citation database including imports from online data vendors and manual creation of records.  

Searching your library - Easily locate the reference or references your searching for.  

Organize your library - Use groups to organize your library.  You can save references to more than one group for easy access or remove from groups without deleting the citation.  

Create a bibliography - Choose from hundreds of output styles to customize your bibliography or create your own! 

Cite While You Write - Cite While You Write is a plug-in for your word processing application.  Format your in-text citations and bibliography while you write your paper.

See the EndNote User's Guide for detailed information about each of these topics.

Using EndNote Web

Start building your library - Use the online vendor search to locate and import references or create them manually. 

Organize your library - Create groups to manage your library. 

Searching your library - Use Quick Search to locate references within your library. 

See the EndNote Web help pages for more information about these topics and others.

Subject Guide

Arnold Library's picture
Arnold Library
Contact:
Weintraub Building
Mailstop: B1-010
x.4314
Website

EndNote and EndNote Web Help

See Clarivate's EndNote Libguide for tips and tricks. 

Visit EndNote Technical Support & Services to access and download User Guides.

Join the EndNote Manager User's Forum for troubleshooting.

Contact EndNote Technical Support

Or contact the library at library@fredhutch.org or x4314.

EndNote Training and Tutorials

Visit the EndNote Training Youtube Library for a variety of training videos in a number of languages. 

Sign up for live online training from EndNote.

Contact the library at library@fredhutch.org or x4314 for personalized instruction for yourself or your group.