LibGuides: Legal Information: Codes, Statutes & Legal Research

Free Alternative to WestLaw & Lexis

Public Library of Law
Free, this database includes 50-state and federal case law databases like Federal District, Bankruptcy, and Tax Courts and Federal and state statutes and regulations.

Legal Dictionaries

FindLaw.com Legal Dictionary
Nexis Uni Legal Dictionaries
Hint: to find legal dictionaries, click on "A Publication" under "What are you interested in?" and type "Dictionary" in the "Find Publication" search box to select a specific dictionary as your search source.

Free Court Dockets

Freecourtdockets.com
Free access to over 33 million court case dockets.
- Nationwide U.S. District Civil Court Dockets
- Nationwide U.S. District Criminal Court Dockets
- Nationwide U.S. Bankruptcy Court Dockets
- U.S. Supreme Court
- U.S. Federal Court of Claims and International Court of Trade
- U.S. Courts of Appeals coming soon

Legal Info Portals

Legal Information Institute from Cornell University Law School
The Legal Information Institute (LII) is a research and electronic publishing activity of the Cornell Law School.
more...less...
We offer all opinions of the United States Supreme Court handed down since 1992, together with over 600 earlier decisions selected for their historic importance, over a decade of opinions of the New York Court of Appeals, and the full United States Code. We also publish important secondary sources: libraries in two important areas (legal ethics and social security) and a series of “topical” pages that serve as concise explanatory guides and Internet resource listings for roughly 100 areas of law.
Duke Law School Library
Compilation of legal information resources from the law librarians at Duke.

Washington State, Counties & Cities

King County Courts, Codes & Law
Municipal Research and Services Center (MRSC)
This page provides links to Web sites for cities and towns in the State of Washington.
Washington Association of Prosecuting Attorneys
WAPA's library of manuals
Washington Courts
Find Court Dates, with case summaries and, where applicable, calendar information and a list of case activities (docket). Search cases by case Number, person name or business name.
more...less...
If you are an attorney, use this search to view district and municipal court proceedings associated with your Bar Number. You can also get your daily district/municipal court calendar e-mailed to you every morning.

Washington State Legislature
Search the RCW, WAC, Bills or WSR (Register) filing. If you know a full or partial citation for an RCW, WAC, or Register filing, type the full citation or choose from the list, then click the Go button to jump directly to it. If you prefer to browse the full contents, follow these links to the RCW, WAC, and WSR.

Federal

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Medicare and Medicaid Regulations, Guidance, Manuals, Legislation, Policies and More.
Federal Administrative Agency Decisions & Other Actions
Can be searched by agency or by subject. Availability of material varies by agency.
Fedstats
Portal to statistics from more than 100 U.S. Federal Agencies. FedStats can be used to find statistics on many topics without knowing in advance which particular agency has jurisdiction over that topic.
GPO - Government Publishing Office
Full‑text access to the CFR (back to 1996), Federal Register (back to 1994), Congressional Record (back to 1994) and other government documents from the Government Printing Office.
Official U.S. Code Search
The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.
Openjurist
Open Jurist is a resource for access to the case law of the United States. The collection includes opinions from the United States Supreme Court - beginning in 1754 when it was known as the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania; and the Federal Appellate Courts - beginning in 1880. It currently contains a total of approximately 647,000 opinions.
THOMAS
Congress.gov is replacing Thomas.gov
This is the primary online source for federal legislative material. Contains new public laws, pending bills, status of bills, committee reports and hearings. Full text of legislation available from 1989 (101st Congress) to present. Depth of other material varies -- some items, including public laws, are earlier in scope. Very current.
USA.gov
Provides one‑stop access to all online U.S. government resources (local, state and federal). Includes topical arrangements, a useful A-Z list of government agencies and departments and Spanish translation of several web pages.

Questions?

Contact Linda Clarke
General Counsel - Administration
206.667.4303
lcclarke@fredhutch.org