Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free Alternative to WestLaw & Lexis
Public Library of Law
Free, this database includes 50-state and federal case law databases like Federal District, Bankruptcy, and Tax Courts and Federal and state statutes and regulations.
Free Court Dockets
Free access to over 33 million court case dockets.
- Nationwide U.S. District Civil Court Dockets
- Nationwide U.S. District Criminal Court Dockets
- Nationwide U.S. Bankruptcy Court Dockets
- U.S. Supreme Court
- U.S. Federal Court of Claims and International Court of Trade
- U.S. Courts of Appeals coming soon
Washington State, Counties & Cities
- Washington State Legislature
Search the RCW, WAC, Bills or WSR (Register) filing. If you know a full or partial citation for an RCW, WAC, or Register filing, type the full citation or choose from the list, then click the Go button to jump directly to it. If you prefer to browse the full contents, follow these links to the RCW, WAC, and WSR.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Medicare and Medicaid Regulations, Guidance, Manuals, Legislation, Policies and More.
Federal Administrative Agency Decisions & Other Actions
Can be searched by agency or by subject. Availability of material varies by agency.
Portal to statistics from more than 100 U.S. Federal Agencies. FedStats can be used to find statistics on many topics without knowing in advance which particular agency has jurisdiction over that topic.
GPO - Government Publishing Office
Full‑text access to the CFR (back to 1996), Federal Register (back to 1994), Congressional Record (back to 1994) and other government documents from the Government Printing Office.
Official U.S. Code Search
The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.
Open Jurist is a resource for access to the case law of the United States. The collection includes opinions from the United States Supreme Court - beginning in 1754 when it was known as the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania; and the Federal Appellate Courts - beginning in 1880. It currently contains a total of approximately 647,000 opinions.
Congress.gov is replacing Thomas.gov
This is the primary online source for federal legislative material. Contains new public laws, pending bills, status of bills, committee reports and hearings. Full text of legislation available from 1989 (101st Congress) to present. Depth of other material varies -- some items, including public laws, are earlier in scope. Very current.
Provides one‑stop access to all online U.S. government resources (local, state and federal). Includes topical arrangements, a useful A-Z list of government agencies and departments and Spanish translation of several web pages.