Skip to main content

 

Scholarly Communications

About

The Arnold Library provides Open Access and other Publishing Support Services for Fred Hutch authors and affiliates. Librarians assist with author agreement review, institutional repository deposit and obtaining publishing identifiers like ISBN and DOI.

Scholarly Communications Support

Contact Allysha Eyler, MLIS
Scholarly Communications Librarian
Arnold Library - Weintraub Building, B1-010
206.667.5048
authors@fredhutch.org

Services

Publications Tracking

The Arnold Library tracks journal articles authored by Fred Hutch, Fred Hutch/University of Washington Cancer Consortium, and Integrated Research Center researchers.

Our publications database is available to Fred Hutchinson staff either on campus or logged in to the VPN via our Publications Dashboard in Tableau. The dashboard is a collaborative effort by the Library's Scholarly Communications team, in partnership with the BI team within Center IT. More information is available in the dashboard about your options to filter and subscribe to custom views that best meet your needs.

NIH Public Access Policy Support

Library staff can assist with new citation requirements arising from the electronic grant submission rules and the new NIH Public Access Policy. Specifically, when citing published research articles that were funded by prior NIH grants in your new grant applications, proposals or progress reports, we can help you to:

  1. identify the PMCID (or NIHMS ID),
  2. and, when the full text article is not available in PubMed Cental (PMC), find an open access URL.
  3. If the publisher allows, we can deposit your paper in our institutional repository thus making it open access to grant reviewers.
  4. If the article is not in PMC, or open access via the publisher, we can obtain a PDF of the article for you.

Publisher policies and services relative to PubMed Central and open access deposit vary widely. Library staff are carefully tracking publisher responses to these requirements. We can deposit your manuscripts into PubMed Central and Fred Hutch's own institutional repository. This will save you time and provide widespread open access and thus more readers to your paper.

  • Some journal publishers will deposit your final peer-reviewed manuscript or published article into PubMed Central for you, at no additional fee. See the list of journals that are automatically submitted to PubMed Central (no need for author/PI to review in NIHMS).
  • Other journals/publishers will allow you (or your library) to deposit the final peer-reviewed manuscript into PubMed Central but will NOT participate in the process. Check with library staff via authors@fredhutch.org to find out what your journal's practices are.
  • Yet other publishers will deposit your paper into PubMed Central for you, but will require you to perform review and approval via the NIHMS system.
  • Let library staff submit your manuscript to PubMed Central for you. Fill out this simple, one-page form and upload your final peer-reviewed manuscript, and any associated image or supplemental data files. We will submit it to PubMed Central and when it's ready, the NIH Manuscript Submission System (NIHMS) will contact the submitting author to review it for accuracy.
  • Alternatively, you may submit your own final peer-reviewed manuscripts to PubMed Central via the NIHMS system. If you choose to self-submit, library staff would be grateful if you would also send along a copy of your manuscript to us via the form or email authors@fredhutch.org and let us know that it has already been submitted to PubMed Central. This will help us track institutional compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy and allow create an entry for your paper in Fred Hutch's own institutional repository.

Learn more about the policies and services offered by publishers, your responsibilities under the NIH Public Access Policy and how library staff can help by contacting authors@fredhutch.org.

Author Support

Librarians provide advice and support to Fred Hutch and Consortium authors throughout the publishing life cycle:

Journal Articles

Before your paper is accepted by a publisher:
  • Protect your rights before signing a publishing agreement.
  • Learn more about the journal's NIH Public Access Policy and institutional repository deposits.
After your paper has been accepted by a journal or was published:
  • Find out if the publisher will deposit your final peer-reviewed manuscript or published article into PubMed Central. See the list of journals that automatically submit articles to PMC, with no need for the author to later review in NIHMS.
  • If not, send us your paper, and let the Library submit your final peer-reviewed manuscript to PubMed Central for you or, if you prefer, submit your final peer-reviewed manuscript to PubMed Central on your own.
  • Learn more about the journal's open access policy and your rights to deposit in an institutional repository.
When you want to share your work with colleagues:
  • Get a paper's open access and/or PubMed Central URL
  • Get a paper's PMCID or NIHMS ID number to cite in an NIH grant proposal, progress report, etc.
  • Let the library make your papers and other scholarly works accessible to more researchers via our institutional repository and PubMed Central.
  • Decode the reuse rights and permissions you hold on your papers - Librarians can help!

Permanent Identification for Your Work

Arnold Library can help you understand the different identification numbers that may be related to your books, articles and other scholarly works!

  • Digital Object Identifier (DOI)
  • International Standard Book Number (ISBN)
  • International Standard Serial Number (ISSN)
Tip: Need a DOI or ISBN assigned? Contact the Scholarly Communications Librarian at the Arnold Library.

Training

NIH Public Access Policy

Details on the Two NIH Policies

Two policies—the NIH Public Access Policy and the NIH/AHRQ/NIOSH grant application rules—may apply when preparing your grant applications.


1. The NIH Public Access Policy

As of May 25, 2008, when citing an article in NIH applications, proposals, and progress reports that falls under the Policy, and was authored or co-authored by you or arose from your NIH award, you must include the PubMed Central reference number (PMCID). This policy includes applications submitted to the NIH for the May 25, 2008 due date and subsequent due dates.

How do I include the PubMed Central reference number in my citations?

List the PubMed Central reference number (PMCID) at the end of the already-required full journal citation for the article. If a PubMed Central reference number is not yet available, include the NIH Manuscript Submission system reference number (NIHMS ID) instead (from http://publicaccess.nih.gov/FAQ.htm).


2. The NIH/AHRQ/NIOSH grant application rules state:

Information that May Be Included in the Application

Published manuscripts and/or abstracts that are publicly available in a free, online format may be referenced in the application. These publications may not be included in the appendix. URLs or NIH PubMed Central (PMC) submission identification numbers may be included along with the full reference in the Bibliography and References Cited section (SF 424RR)/Literature Cited (PHS 398) section, the Progress Report Publication List section and/or the Biographical Sketch section. While there is no limit to the number of URLs or PMC submission identification numbers that can be cited, applicants should be both judicious and concise (in NOT-OD-07-018).

Please note: Many of the full-text journal articles that Fred Hutch researchers access online use URLs that are tied to the Arnold Library's subscriptions. These URLs will NOT work for anyone off-campus.

If you provide the library staff with a citation, we will help you identify the correct, open access copy of the article, if it exists. If an open access copy is not available, please ask us to determine if your paper is eligible for deposit in our open access institutional repository (IR). If your publisher allows IR deposit, then we can make the paper accessible to reviewers for you. As a final option, we can obtain a PDF of the article for you via our ILL & Document Delivery service.

Materials Allowed in the Appendix Publications

Applicants may submit up to 3 of the following types of publications. Any exceptions will be noted in specific FOAs.

  • Manuscripts and/or abstracts accepted for publication but not yet published.
  • Published manuscripts and/or abstracts only when a free, online, publicly available journal link is not available.
  • Patents materials directly relevant to the project.

Format of Appendix Materials

  • For electronic submission using the SF 424 (R&R) forms and Grants.gov, Appendix materials must be submitted in PDF format.
  • For paper submission using the PHS 398, Appendix materials may be submitted in paper format; five collated sets are needed.
  • Applicants are encouraged to send Appendix materials submitted with paper PHS 398 applications on a CD in PDF format in lieu of the five collated sets. See application instructions for details on preparing CDs. Only a single CD need be sent.
  • For materials that cannot be submitted electronically or materials that cannot be converted to PDF format; (e.g., medical devices, prototypes, DVDs, CDs), applicants should contact the Scientific Review Administrator for instructions following notification of assignment of the application to a study section. If the SRA is listed in the FOA, they should be contacted in advance to address acceptability of materials.
Tip: You can use use the Arnold Library's system for managing Interlibrary Loans, ILLiad, to obtain PDF or hard-copies of published journal articles.

Pre-Publication PubMed Central Compliance FAQ

Authors (not Fred Hutch) own the copyright to their manuscripts and are responsible for ensuring that they have sufficient rights to deposit their manuscript in PubMed Central (per the NIH Public Access Policy) and our institutional repository.

Please make certain that the following rights are included in your agreement before you sign:

The right to deposit the final version of your manuscript in PubMed Central and an institutional repository no later than 12 months after publication.

If your author agreement does not include these rights, download and follow the instructions to complete the Amendment to Publication Agreement, which is intended to retain these rights.

Some publishers limit or restrict open access to papers published in their journals. Other publishers permit or even support open access and PubMed Central (PMC) deposit in a wide variety of ways. It is important to know what a specific publisher and journal will allow and/or do.

Library staff can help you identify and understand specific publisher open access and NIH public access policies and services. This will help you determine if and how your paper will get deposited in PMC and/or Fred Hutch's institutional repository. We'll also be able to tell you how our PMC service can mitigate those tasks for you.

Specific considerations include:

Some journal publishers will deposit your article in PMC for you, at no additional fee. See the list of journals that automatically submit articles to PMC, with no need for the author to later review in NIHMS.

Many publishers will allow us to deposit the final, peer-reviewed manuscript in PMC, but will NOT help us do so. Library staff can advise you as to which publishers permit this and how we can help you with the deposit. Contact us at authors@fredhutch.org.

No, not necessarily. Some open access journals have agreements with NLM to directly deposit articles into PMC, but other journals do not. Only the open access journals with PMC direct deposit agreements meet your obligation for you. If you publish in an open access journal that lacks a direct deposit agreement and process, then you will be responsible for the PMC submission of your manuscript. Library staff can help you identify and determine a journal's PMC deposit status, contact us at authors@fredhutch.org.

Some publishers now offer authors the opportunity to sponsor the immediate (upon publication) open access of their articles on the publisher's website in exchange for a fee. Depending on the specific license, paid open access may give you the right to deposit your article in PMC. Please note, though, that the publisher may or may not make the deposit for you. As of September 2008, these fees commonly range from $1,000-$3,000 per article. It is also important to note that, typically, these same publishers will allow you to make your own PMC manuscript deposit for free (subject to embargo periods). So typically, you do not have to pay these fees in order to comply with the NIH policy. Contact us at authors@fredhutch.org for assistance in evaluating your options.

These types of costs are allowable on federal grants.

This is only allowable if the federal award is subject to Uniform Guidance. If costs for publication or sharing of research results are not incurred during the award period, such costs may now be charged anytime within the 90 day closeout period of the award end date for federal awards subject to Uniform Guidance. If any problems arise while trying to post publication costs during the closeout window, please contact your OSR grant specialist.

Per the NIH policy you can rebudget from other categories to pay for publication expenses. Here is the language from the published policy (NOT-OD-05-022):

NIH-funded investigators are expected to make the results and accomplishments of their activities available to the research community and to the public at large. Consequently, NIH considers publication costs, which include fees charged by a publisher, such as color and page charges, or fees for digital distribution, to be allowable charges to NIH research awards.

Generally, page charges for publications in professional journals are allowable, if the published paper reports work supported by the grant and the charges are levied impartially on all papers published by the journal, whether or not they are submitted by government-sponsored authors. As with all other costs, NIH expects its investigators to be careful stewards of Federal funds and to manage these resources appropriately. Grantees may rebudget funds to support these costs, but NIH will consider all other options to ensure that budgets are not affected unduly which should be achievable given the voluntary nature of this request.

Provided there is an accurate methodology to allocate across the awards, this would be allowed.

Forms

PubMed Central & Institutional Repository Deposit Form

Note Before you begin this form, we recommend that you contact the Scholarly Communications Librarian at authors@fredhutch.org or 206.667.5048 for guidance on your journal publisher's PubMed Central deposit policy and procedures.


Use this form to ask the Scholarly Communications Librarian to submit and/or verify the submission of your manuscript to:

  • PubMed Central (to comply with the new NIH Public Access Policy's deposit mandate),
  • and Fred Hutch's institutional repository.

The Librarian will then either:

  • submit your manuscript to PMC and the Fred Hutch institutional repository,
  • or-- if your publisher has submitted on your behalf-- check your manuscript's PMC deposit status and confirm it for you.

In either case, the Scholarly Communications Librarian will email you with the results of their efforts and supply you with your manuscript's embargo release requirement, the NIHMS or PMCID number as possible, and the new URL for your paper in the institutional repository.

Warning Please ONLY submit manuscripts and the accompanying image and/or supplemental data files that have been accepted for publication by a journal AND which include all the edits from the peer-review process (the post-refereed/peer-reviewed version).

Do NOT submit the official, published copy of the paper.

Contact the Scholarly Communications Librarian at authors@fredhutch.org if you have questions.

 

Resources

Related Resources

Related Services

Related Documents