Skip to main content

 

Arnold Library

Accessible to Fred Hutch employees via employee badge 24/7/365. Non-employees are welcome weekdays during business hours, 9-5.

About

Comments & Suggestions

As information experts, the library staff is dedicated to bringing you the resources and services you need to support your research.

Please feel free to address your comments about any of the Library's policies or services to:

Beth Levine, Library Services Manager
Arnold Library - Weintraub Building, B1-010
206.667.5537
blevine@fredhutch.org


Arnold Library
Weintraub Building, B1-010
206.667.4314
library@fredhutch.org

Library Mission

The Arnold Library is a state-of-the-art, well-integrated library service and as such is one of the essential components of the information infrastructure that supports and facilitates biomedical inquiry and scientific progress for investigators at Fred Hutch. Our primary purpose is to provide high quality, responsive and up-to-date services in support of the center's research, education and patient care programs.

Library Accounts

Tip: Your Library account is synced with your HutchNetID and password. Use your HutchNet ID and password to access all library resources. Learn more »

I need to...

Connect from Off-campus

The Arnold Library recognizes that Fred Hutch faculty and staff need access to information at many off-campus locations and provides Remote Access Service.

When accessing Library resources off-campus, log in when prompted with your HutchNet ID and password.

  • For assistance with your HutchNet ID, contact the Center IT Helpdesk at helpdesk@fredhutch.org or 206.667.5700
  • For questions about library account eligibility or policies, contact Arnold Library staff at library@fredhutch.org or 206.667.4314

Find Full-Text Articles

Tip: Use the Arnold Library's Get Article enabled link to PubMed! PubMed will then allow convenient access to all of the library's subscribed online journals and series via the FHCRC Get Article button. Bookmark this link and use it for all of your searches!

When conducting a search in many of our databases, you will see the FHCRC GET ARTICLE button () in the search results. When you click on the button, you will be redirected to a page that has information about the library's holdings for that journal, and instructions for getting the full-text version of the document through ILL, print resource, or online via library subscription.

Warning The Get Article button is not available in all of our databases. For more information about this service and restrictions, please see the following Get Article FAQ:

Get Article FAQ

Get Article is a full-featured OpenURL link resolver that seamlessly links all of the Library resources. It is not a search engine. Here's how it works: when you find a citation or reference to a specific article in an online database, Get Article supplies the best available path to the content, anywhere in the Library's collection.

Clicking the Get Article button (or clicking on a link) within an OpenURL-enabled database produces the Get Article results page with direct links to one or more of the following:

  • Full text of the article
  • Table of contents of the journal, which links to the full text of the article
  • Database home page, which must be searched to retrieve the full text
  • Library catalog (OPAC)
  • Various Custom links (determined by librarians such as ILL forms)

Depending on the content provider, links to the content may be available at the article, journal, or database levels.

If the article link is absent from the Get Article results page it could be due to one of the following reasons:

  • The Library does not subscribe to the full text for that particular title
  • The publisher of the title may not provide full text online
  • There is not enough data in the search criteria to trigger an article-level link
  • The provider of the journal does not support OpenURL

The same journal is often times available in more than one database. Get Article will display the links to all content accessible to the Library.

In cases where Get Article can only take you to the journal's table of contents or a database home page, you will have to browse the table of contents to locate the issue and article you need, or search the database the retrieve the full text article.

This can occur for several reasons:

  • Full text articles are withheld from the online versions of the database by the publisher or author.
  • Metadata appears in a database before the publisher has made the full text available.
  • Sometimes the coverage dates are not supplied in the Library's data, and Get Article will provide an article link with the hope that the Library has access to that date range.

If you have additional questions about Get Article, please contact the Arnold Library at library@fredhutch.org

Find Books, Journals & eBooks

The Arnold Library offers a broad collection of both electronic (online/digital) and print (hardcopy/physical) materials to serve our community:

Online / Digital

In the Library:

  • Hardcopy, Print Books & Journal Volumes: 30,000+
  • DVDs/CD-ROMs: 300+
  • A Popular Science collection of Books, Blu-Ray & DVDs. Located on the main library level on the last set of stacks closest to the Librarian offices, or browse titles in the catalog.

Make a Purchase Suggestion

We purchase nearly any hardcopy/print scholarly book or DVD that our research community requests. Journal subscriptions are reviewed annually and evaluated for relevance to our research community, quality and cost per use.

Borrow & Renew

  Circulating? Loan Period* Auto-renewal* Cost/Fees Restrictions*
Books & Blu-ray/DVDs
(Popular Science Collection)
Yes

- Books: 4 Weeks

- Blu-ray/DVDs: 1 Week

Up to 12 times No Auto-renewals cease when another user places a hold on an item on loan.
Books & Blu-ray/DVDs
(General Collection)
Yes

- Books: 4 Weeks

- Blu-ray/DVDs: 4 Weeks

Up to 12 times No Auto-renewals cease when another user places a hold on an item on loan.
Reference Materials No No loans No No Warning Restricted to use in the Library
Info Available for Document Delivery
Journals No No loans No No Warning Restricted to use in the Library
Info Available for Document Delivery
* We also reserve the right to recall an item in the event of an emergent need.

Borrow

Many books in our collections may be checked out. Reference materials and journals do not circulate, as this is primarily a research collection and these volumes need to be available to researchers at all times.

The standard loan period is four weeks, except for digital media from our Popular Science collection, which have a loan period of one week.

Renew

Our library catalog will automatically renew your loan twelve times. After that, staff assistance is required to renew. You can review your total number of renewals remaining by logging into your library account online. 

Review Your Renewals Online

To view your checked out books and number of renewals remaining, log into the library catalog with your HutchNet ID and password. This should take you to your account summary page which lists the books you currently have checked out.

If you are unable to renew please contact the library at library@fredhutch.org for assistance.

Services & More

Library Accounts

Tip: Your Library account is synced with your HutchNetID and password. Use your HutchNet ID and password to check out books, search and remotely access the Library's electronic journals, books and databases.
  • Fred Hutch faculty and staff are eligible to receive library accounts.
  • SCCA members may be eligible for some or all library services.
  • For more information on library account policies and privileges, refer to the following FAQs or contact library staff:

Scholarly Communications

Open Access & PubMed Central Deposit Service
Let Arnold Library make your papers accessible to more readers and grant reviewers via our institutional repository and PubMed Central. We can help you comply with the new NIH Public Access Policy by depositing your papers into PubMed Central and our institutional repository for you.

Grant Submission Support Services
In response to the NIH/AHRQ/NIOSH grant application rules, requiring increased use of publicly accessible free versions of manuscripts, the Arnold Library offers a suite of services to assist Fred Hutch researchers and affiliates.

Refer to the following guide for more information about these author services and more:

Facilities & Technology

Study Carrels, Tables & Casual Seating
Study carrels and tables are available on the main floor of the library and in the upstairs study room for individual or group study. Comfortable chairs are available upstairs for relaxed reading. Feel free to bring in food or drink and your portable devices, including cell phones.

Copy, Scan, Print
The Library hosts a variety of equipment available for patron use. See the following guides for more information about computers and software, scanners, printers and copiers:

Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Requests

The Arnold Library Interlibrary Loan (ILL) & Document Delivery service allows users to request items held by Arnold Library and libraries around the world. Info There is no charge to Fred Hutch faculty, staff, students and affiliates for this service.

Tip: Use ILLiad to submit requests for ILL and document delivery. Use your HutchNet ID and password to log into ILLiad. For more information on using ILLiad, refer to the ILLiad FAQ & How-to Guide.

See the following guide for more information about this service:

Reference Questions & Information Requests

Reference librarians are available to conduct research to meet your information needs. Because information requests can be complex, we suggest meeting with a librarian to discuss your topic. Arrange to meet with a librarian, and/or submit your request via email to library@fredhutch.org

Requests are processed on a first-come-first-served basis and are normally completed within two working days. The librarian working on your request might contact you if the request needs clarification or more information is needed. Results will be delivered via email or in person.

Special Collections

Training

Arnold Library staff provides one-on-one or group training sessions for any library service or resource upon request.