A-Z Library Resources and Databases

Altmetric is a system that tracks the attention that research outputs such as scholarly articles and data sets receive online. It pulls data from:

• Social media such as X and Facebook
• Traditional media - both mainstream (The Guardian, New York Times) and field specific (New Scientist, Bird Watching). Many non-English language titles are covered. 
• Blogs - both major organizations (Cancer Research UK) and individual researchers
• Online reference managers like Mendeley and CiteULike
• We track too many sources to list them individually but a more detailed breakdown is available

Altmetric cleans up and normalizes the data from these sources then makes it available for analysis. A key difference between Altmetric and other social media monitoring services is that Altmetric will disambiguate links to outputs: it knows that even though some X posts might link to a PubMed abstract, newspapers to the publisher's site and blog posts to a dx.doi.org link they're all talking about the same paper.

After Altmetric aggregates all of the information (we call each piece of information a post) it can find about a research output it looks at both the quantity and the quality of attention being paid to an output and visualises it.

For more information about the product, check out the Library's Dimensions and Altmetric CenterNet page, or visit the Altmetric product site or support portal.

The ultimate research tool for nursing and allied health studies, CINAHL Ultimate provides fast and easy access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules. You can access content covering all nursing and allied health specialties.

Additional Features: 

• Provides an easy-to-use interface with basic and advanced search features and searchable cited references
• Features CINAHL Subject Headings which follow the structure of Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
• Provides more than 935 active, full-text, non-open access journals
• Includes searchable cited references for more than 1,500 journals
• Offers more than 3,800 active indexed journals

The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes access to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers.

Dimensions is a linked research knowledge system that re-imagines discovery and access to research. Developed by Digital Science in collaboration with over 100 leading research organizations around the world, Dimensions brings together grants, publications, citations, alternative metrics, clinical trials, patents and policy documents to deliver a platform that enables users to find and access the most relevant information faster, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy. For more information about the product, check out the Library's Dimensions and Altmetric CenterNet page, or visit the Dimensions product site or the support site.

With thousands of librarian-selected titles covering Asian Studies, Women's Studies, Black Studies, Hispanic/Latino Studies and much more, ProQuest’s DEI Ebook Subscription is the most comprehensive, focused curated subscription developed to represent all voices – regardless of gender, race, sexual orientation, physical ability and religious belief. It supports teaching, learning and research in the classroom and beyond. Visit the product page for more information about the collection.

Altmetric is a system that tracks the attention that research outputs such as scholarly articles and data sets receive online. It pulls data from:

• Social media such as X and Facebook
• Traditional media - both mainstream (The Guardian, New York Times) and field specific (New Scientist, Bird Watching). Many non-English language titles are covered. 
• Blogs - both major organizations (Cancer Research UK) and individual researchers
• Online reference managers like Mendeley and CiteULike
• We track too many sources to list them individually but a more detailed breakdown is available

Altmetric cleans up and normalizes the data from these sources then makes it available for analysis. A key difference between Altmetric and other social media monitoring services is that Altmetric will disambiguate links to outputs: it knows that even though some X posts might link to a PubMed abstract, newspapers to the publisher's site and blog posts to a dx.doi.org link they're all talking about the same paper.

After Altmetric aggregates all of the information (we call each piece of information a post) it can find about a research output it looks at both the quantity and the quality of attention being paid to an output and visualises it.

For more information about the product, check out the Library's Dimensions and Altmetric CenterNet page, or visit the Altmetric product site or support portal.

BrowZine is an application that presents a comprehensive list of our subscribed and open access e-journals. You can search by title, subject, issn, and browse by subject. Once you locate a journal of interest, you can browse volumes and issues and easily navigate to PDFs.

The ultimate research tool for nursing and allied health studies, CINAHL Ultimate provides fast and easy access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules. You can access content covering all nursing and allied health specialties.

Additional Features: 

• Provides an easy-to-use interface with basic and advanced search features and searchable cited references
• Features CINAHL Subject Headings which follow the structure of Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
• Provides more than 935 active, full-text, non-open access journals
• Includes searchable cited references for more than 1,500 journals
• Offers more than 3,800 active indexed journals

Dimensions is a linked research knowledge system that re-imagines discovery and access to research. Developed by Digital Science in collaboration with over 100 leading research organizations around the world, Dimensions brings together grants, publications, citations, alternative metrics, clinical trials, patents and policy documents to deliver a platform that enables users to find and access the most relevant information faster, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy. For more information about the product, check out the Library's Dimensions and Altmetric CenterNet page, or visit the Dimensions product site or the support site.

LibKey Discovery allows you to search for articles in the Arnold Library catalog and be directed straight to the PDF instead of navigating through layers of publisher pages and journal navigation. Library staff have embedded this tool in the catalog and there is no need for you to install anything or use a special link to access it. All you need is article titles to search in the catalog and you're all set.