Skip to main content

MCB 539 Molecular and Biological Basis of Cancer: Lecture Schedule

Time & Location

January 7 - March 12, 2020

Tuesdays and Thursdays

3:20 - 4:40 PM

Room B1-074/076 (next to Pelton Auditorium), Weintraub Building, Fred Hutch Campus

Course Textbook

Recommended Readings

Course Description

Understanding and controlling cancer is one of the major challenges of 21st century biology. Contemporary research on cancer encompasses multiple disciplines including molecular and cellular biology, virology, structural biology, evolutionary genetics, genomics and epidemiology. This course consists of a series of lectures and discussion meetings to introduce students to the major themes in research on the etiology of neoplastic change. The lectures will cover principal molecular mechanisms responsible for tumor initiation, progression, and metastasis with a specific emphasis on oncogenic drivers and tumor suppressors and loss of normal tissue homeostasis. Background concepts and state of the art research with emphasis on current major questions in cancer biology will be presented by faculty who are experts in their fields. The discussion meetings will concentrate on selected major papers in cancer biology and be presented and discussed by the students with help and guidance of the instructors.

Grading: Student overall participation, activity during discussions, quality and depth of the research paper presentation, and the written research proposal on one of the topics in cancer biology will be used for course credit and grading.

Prerequisites: Introductory biochemistry and cell biology.

Enrollment in the course is limited to 20 students.

Lecture 1: January 7, 2020

Introduction: Genetic Basis of Cancer

David MacPherson, PhD

Lecture 2: January 9, 2020

MYC: An Oncogene Paradigm

Bob Eisenman, PhD

Lecture 3: January 14, 2020

Cancer Stem Cells and Differentiation

Slobodan Beronja, PhD

Lecture 4: January 16, 2020

Cancer Epidemiology

Chris Li, MD, PhD

Lecture 5: January 21, 2020

The Deranged Cancer Genome

Alice Berger, PhD

Lecture 6: January 23, 2020

Literature Review 1

Faculty Discussant: Slobodan Beronja, PhD

Lecture 7: January 28, 2020

Viral Cancers

Denise Galloway, PhD

Lecture 8: January 30, 2020

Nuclear Organization and Dynamics

Emily Hatch, PhD

Lecture 9: February 4, 2020

Tumor Metabolism

Lucas Sullivan, PhD

Lecture 10: February 6, 2020

Literature Review 2

Faculty Discussant: Lucas Sullivan, PhD

Lecture 11: February 11, 2020

Cell Adhesion

Valeri Vasioukhin, PhD

Lecture 12: February 13, 2020

Metastasis

Cyrus Ghajar, PhD

Lecture 13: February 18, 2020

Protein Synthesis and Cancer

Andrew Hsieh, MD

Lecture 14: February 20, 2020

Literature Review 3

Faculty Discussant: Andrew Hsieh, MD

Lecture 15: February 25, 2020

Bacterial Cancer

Nina Salama, PhD

Lecture 16: February 27, 2020

Functional Genomics in Cancer Research

Patrick Paddison, PhD

Lecture 17: March 3, 2020

Cancer and the Immune System

Phil Greenberg, MD

Lecture 18: March 5, 2020

Literature Review 4

Faculty Discussant: Alice Berger, PhD

Lecture 19: March 10, 2020

Prostate Cancer

Pete Nelson, MD

Lecture 20: March 12, 2020

Literature Review 5

Faculty Discussant: Patrick Paddison, PhD

MCB 539 Instructors

Course Organizers:

David MacPherson, PhD
dmacpher@fredhutch.org

Bob Eisenman, PhD
eisenman@fredhutch.org


Guest Lecturers:

Alice Berger, PhD
ahberger@fredhutch.org

Slobodan Beronja, PhD
beronja@fredhutch.org

Denise Galloway, PhD
dgallowa@fredhutch.org

Cyrus Ghajar, PhD
cghajar@fredhutch.org

Phil Greenberg, MD
pgreen@u.washington.edu

Emily Hatch, PhD
ehatch@fredhutch.org

Andrew Hsieh, MD
ahsieh@fredhutch.org

Chris Li, MD, PhD
clll@fredhutch.org

Pete Nelson, MD
pnelson@fredhutch.org

Patrick Paddison, PhD
paddison@fredhutch.org

Nina Salama, PhD
nsalama@fredhutch.org

Lucas Sullivan, PhD
lucas@fredhutch.org

Valeri Vasioukhin, PhD
vvasiouk@fredhutch.org