PubMed
To find the best peer-reviewed medical journal articles, search PubMed. From the USA's National Library of Medicine, PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
An international index to African health literature and information sources. This index is called African Index Medicus (AIM) and is produced by The World Health Organization, in collaboration with the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA).
POPLINE (POPulation information onLINE)
Contains citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues.
Click on the titles below to get an up-to-date search on the topic in PubMed.
The searches labeled “free full text” will only get articles with links to the entire text of the article for free and will not retrieve citations to articles for which the publisher charges or those that are available only after logging into Hinari.
Publications on cancer or HIV/AIDS by researchers at Makerere University or the Uganda Cancer Institute - includes articles without free full text
Cancer Care Costs in Developing Countries - includes articles without free full text
Screening for cancer in Africa – free full text
Tumor virus infections in Africa – free full text
Brain Cancer in Africa – free full text
Breast Cancer in Africa – free full text
Burkitt Lymphoma in Africa - free full text
Cervical Cancer Screening in Africa- free full text
Cervical cancer Surgery or Therapy in Africa- free full text
Esophageal Cancer in Africa – free full text
Kaposi Sarcoma in Central Africa - free full-text
Laryngeal Cancer in Africa – free full text
Leukemia in Africa – free full text
Liver Cancer in Africa – free full text
Lung Cancer in Africa – free full text
Lymphomas in Africa – free full text
Prostate Cancer in Africa – free full text
Stomach Cancer in Africa – free full text
This is the Finding, Organizing and Using Medical Information Series, created by the Network of African Medical Librarians and Deans, with support from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Scitable ia a
free science library and personal learning tool brought to you by
Nature Publishing Group, the world's leading publisher of science.
Scitable currently concentrates on genetics,
the study of evolution, variation, and the rich complexity of living
organisms. As you cultivate your understanding of modern genetics on
Scitable, you will explore not only what we know about genetics and the
ways it impacts our society, but also the data and evidence that
supports our knowledge.
Find out what any acronym, abbreviation, or initialism stands for!
Translations to and from English and 15 languagues
Download the free Adobe Reader software at: http://get.adobe.com/reader/
Cure 4 Kids provides continuing medical education focusing on cancer, pediatrics, oncology, and global communication tools to health care professionals and scientists worldwide.
Registration is required, but is free. CLICK ON "REGISTER in the left column."
Manage citations with Zotero, or EndNote!
Start building your library- There are several ways to add to your citation database including imports from online data vendors and manual creation of records.
Searching your library - Easily locate the reference or references your searching for.
Organize your library - Use groups to organize your library. You can save references to more than one group for easy access or remove from groups without deleting the citation.
Create a bibliography - Choose from hundreds of output styles to customize your bibliography or create your own!
Cite While You Write - Cite While You Write is a plug-in for your word processing application. Format your in-text citations and bibliography while you write your paper.
Detailed tutorials and help for all EndNote or EndNote Web features are available on EndNote's support pages.
Zotero is a free Firefox extension that allows you to collect, manage, cite, & share research sources.
Why use Zotero?
Getting Started:
Start building your library - There are several ways to add to your citation database including importing items that Zotero automatically finds on web pages, conversion from other bibliographic software such as RefWorks and Endnote, retrieval of items based on unique identifier, and the manual creation of records.
Organize your library - Use folders and tags to organize your library by project or topic.
Searching your library - Search on metadata, tags, or content to find items in your collection. Zotero also support full text indexing of pdf's.
Create a bibliography - Automatically create bibliographies from cited items within the word processor. Or create bibliographies manually and import them into your document.
Citing items - Insert citations, footnotes, and endnotes directly from the word processing software. Include multiple sources for the same citation. Quickly change the citation style for the whole document.
Collaborate- Share your citations lists with colleagues by creating a group. Groups have their own web page and members can add, edit, and delete items. Groups can be set to public or private.
Citing Medicine, The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers. 2nd edition, from the National Library of Medicine, provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations. It is one of the primary style manuals used by scientific publishers.
Enter information about your topic and the generator will build a thesis for you.
ThesisBuilders are tools to help students:
Detailed Example of a couple of ways that you can take notes. The Cornell method is best when the information is given in a sequential, orderly fashion and allows for more detail. The semantic web/map method works best for instructors who skip around from topic to topic, and provides a "big picture" when you're previewing materials or getting ready to study for a test.
About UCI/Hutchinson Center Cancer Alliance
In 2004, Dr. Corey Casper of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center initiated a collaboration with Dr. Jackson Orem, Director of the Uganda Cancers Institute (UCI) that became known as the UCI/Hutchinson Center Cancer Alliance.
Learn more at http://www.fhcrc.org/science/vidd/programs/upcid/.
More information is available than ever before, and you can access information from across the country or around the world. But finding what you want requires more skill on the part of the researcher.
This website covers these critical research techniques:
Data of all the scientific evidence for popular health supplements by David McCandless and Andy Perkins.
Many of the health claims made by the $23 billion supplements industry are based on non-human trials. We wanted to cut through that.
We looked at the abstracts of over 1500 studies on PubMed (run by US National Library Of Medicine) and Cochrane.org (which hosts meta-studies of scientific research).
You can see our key results in this spreadsheet. (It’s the same spreadsheet that generates the interactive image).
Resources for Teaching Research Ethics
Responsible Conduct of Research Education Consortium (RCREC) and the Online Resource for RCR Instructors
FHCRC is a member of this national organization that promotes education in the responsible conduct of research. This site includes RCR topic lists, delivery methods, tools for the effective teaching of research ethics, and connections to the programs of other institutions and to national RCR events.
Teaching Ethics for Research, Scholarship, & Practice, from of the University of Minnesota, offers a wide variety of resources for teaching the responsible conduct of research.
Research ethics and instructional materials from NIH. Includes policies, ethics cases by topic area, and web sites to handout during case study discussion groups.
Ethics and Public Health: A Model Curriculum
Web-based modules sponsored by the Association of Schools of Public Health. These 9 modules explore aspects of ethics and public health.
RCR Educational Resources from the Office of Research Integrity
An extensive resource of educational tools for many topic areas in the research ethics. This includes multimedia presentations and online training.
Enter your question or calculation and Wolfram|Alpha uses its built-in algorithms and a growing collection of data to compute the answer.
Take the tour to learn more about WolframAlpha .