LibGuides: Getting the Best Cancer Information in Uganda: Patients & Families

Cure4Kids

Resources tailored to parents and care-takers on general health, cancer, and healthy living.

(For elementary school children)
Choose your guide and explore the Cure4Kids Kids boat! Visit the lab and use a microscope, play games, ask questions, test your knowledge, and have FUN!

Test Your Cancer Risk

This interactive tool estimates your risk of cancer and provides personalized tips for prevention. Anyone can use it, but it's most accurate for people age 40 and over who have never had any type of cancer.

Take a few minutes to answer some questions and find out your risk. It doesn't tell you if you'll get cancer or not, but it does tell you where to focus your prevention efforts. Because the best way to fight cancer is to stop it before it starts!

NCI Cancer Dictionary

National Cancer Institute's Cancer Dictionary

How to Evaluate Medical Info on the Web

Health & Medical Info

Health and disease information resources for consumers and patients. Search the Library's online consumer health journals for articles or try one of the web site's below:

MedlinePlus
Updated daily by librarians at the National Library of Medicine, you'll find carefully selected health information from trusted sources on over 750 diseases and conditions.
more...less...
Welcome to MedlinePlus, a goldmine of good health information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine. Health professionals and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative and up to date. MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 750 diseases and conditions. There are directories, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, easy-to-understand tutorials on common conditions, tests, and treatments, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials. MedlinePlus is updated daily.
Cancer on MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus Tutorials for Africa
Cancer.gov
Cancer prevention, education, treatment and research information for the public from the National Cancer Institute.
Get Screened
Screening guidelines for men and women from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

Patient Education Materials in Swahili

Collection of Patient Ed Handouts in Swahili from RHIN
RHIN (Refugee Health Information Network) from the US NIH and DHHS provides health education materials in various languages and formats.
Emergency Multilingual Phrasebook
The Emergency Multilingual phrasebook, produced and updated by the British Red Cross Society covers the most common medical questions and terms to help first contact staff communicate with patients who do not speak English and make an initial assessment while an interpreter is contacted.
The Cover contains the questions in English.
Page 52 contains the identical questions in Swahili.
Swahili language Healthy Living Toolkits from USCRI
The USCRI Healthy Living Toolkits are is designed to educate refugees and immigrants to become proactive health consumers and promoters in their communities. The toolkits are intended to help health care-related professionals more effectively assist refugees and immigrants and reduce the health disparities among these populations.
Swahili Language resources via MedlinePlus
Includes an extensive collection of videos on HIV topics spoken in Swahili

UCI/Hutchinson Center Cancer Alliance

About UCI/Hutchinson Center Cancer Alliance

In 2004, Dr. Corey Casper of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center initiated a collaboration with Dr. Jackson Orem, Director of the Uganda Cancers Institute (UCI) that became known as the UCI/Hutchinson Center Cancer Alliance.

Learn more at http://www.fhcrc.org/science/vidd/programs/upcid/.

ToxTown

Tox Town (http://toxtown.nlm.nih.gov) is an interactive guide to commonly encountered toxic substances, your health, and the environment. Tox Town helps users explore a Port, Town, City, Farm, or US-Mexico Border community to identify common environmental hazards.