LibGuides: Getting the Best Cancer Information in Uganda: Health Care Providers & Clinicians

Search for Published Info

PubMed

To find the best peer-reviewed medical journal articles, search PubMed. From the USA's National Library of Medicine, PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Search PubMed with HINARI Access

Learn how to search PubMed using HINARI journal access filter

Search PubMed without HINARI Access

African Index Medicus

An international index to African health literature and information sources. This index is called African Index Medicus (AIM) and is produced by The World Health Organization, in collaboration with the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA).

POPLINE (POPulation information onLINE)

Contains citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues.

Instant PubMed Searches on Cancer in Africa

Click on the titles below to get an up-to-date search on the topic in PubMed.

The searches labeled “free full text” will only get articles with links to the entire text of the article for free and will not retrieve citations to articles for which the publisher charges or those that are available only after logging into Hinari.

Finding, Organizing, and Using Medical Information Video Series

This is the Finding, Organizing and Using Medical Information Series, created by the Network of African Medical Librarians and Deans, with support from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Greetings from Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) President:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y9fViLXmXok

Module 1, Information Sources:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=toW3cM86p_I

Module 2, Searching Tools:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=43zuPe6W8Ec

Module 3, Searching Techniques:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PdVKU4bkkpg

Module 4, Organizing & Managing Information:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aloKpDWBBps

Module 5, The Importance of Intellectual Property Rights in the Learning & Research Process:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6QjZPBDuGi8

Module 6, Evaluation of Information:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HjPnm8zFVko

Module 7, Scholarly Communications:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yDft4TAIBBI

Modules 1-7 (French version):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBTjpM4VjPg

Modules 1-7 (Portuguese version):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5LhG0yRTPUY

Breast Cancer

BHGI-INCTR Library Catalogue for Breast Cancer Control
The BHGI-INCTR Library Catalogue provides a searchable literature database of articles relevant to breast health care and cancer control oriented to LMCs. The user-friendly interface allows members to create bibliographies and download key references.
more...less...
The Breast Health Global Initiative (BHGI) strives to develop, implement and study evidence-based, economically feasible, and culturally appropriate Guidelines for International Breast Health and Cancer Control for low- and middle-income countries (LMCs) to improve breast health outcomes and access to breast cancer screening, detection and treatment for women.

Human Anatomy

The Visible Human Project
The Visible Human Project® by the National Library of Medicine is the creation of complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies.
AnatLine
AnatLine was developed by the National Library of Medicine to provide a client/server Internet interface to access gross anatomy images of the human body.
Atlas of Human Anatomy in Cross Section
Free, Fulltext eBook
The present work attempts to provide a high-quality color atlas of sectional anatomy in the axial plane. Photographic images offer the best means of correlation with radiologic images, and drawings have not been used except as "key figures."

Human Brain Anatomy

The Allen Human Brain Atlas
A unique multi-modal atlas of the human brain that integrates anatomic and genomic information, coupled with a suite of visualization and mining tools
more...less...
Data modalities incorporated into this resource include magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), diffusion tensor imaging (DTI), histology and gene expression data derived from both microarray and in situ hybridization (ISH) approaches.

Histology Websites

WebPath's Anatomy - Histology Tutorials
The WebPath® computer-aided instructional resource at this website contains over 2000 images with text that illustrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated with human disease conditions. For self-assessment and study there are over 2000 examination items. There are more than 20 tutorials in specific subject areas
Normalhistology.com
Info & pictures on all tissues & organs w/in the human body, as well as some pathology, to show the contrast between normal & abnormal histology & histopathology.
more...less...
includes the adrenal gland, appendix, bone, breast, colon, esophagus, fallopian tube, gallbladder, heart, kidney, liver, lung, lymph nodes, pancreas, parathyroid gland, placenta, prostate, skin, stomach, testis, thyroid & uterus, and some pathology including appendicitis, cancer & inflammatory bowel disease, both Crohn's disease & Ulcerative colitis,
Brown Medical School Digital Histology:
Normal histology images of human heart, lung, female reproductive system, kidney & urinary tract.
Histology Atlas
The histopathology images are captured digitally at a 24-bit RGB color depth and are saved in the JPEG format. The optical resolution of each image is 1520 x 1080 pixels (1.6 megapixels per color plane). All of the tissues used for these images are stained with hematoxylin and eosin, and the magnification accompanying each image refers to the objective magnification used to capture it (not the total magnification).

Cure4Kids - Health Professionals

Cure 4 Kids provides continuing medical education focusing on cancer, pediatrics, oncology, and global communication tools to health care professionals and scientists worldwide.

Registration is required, but is free. CLICK ON "REGISTER in the left column."

Clinical Practice Guidelines

NCCN Guideline & Clinical Resources
The NCCN Guidelines™ are a comprehensive set of guidelines detailing the sequential management decisions and interventions for the malignant cancers that affect 97 percent of all patients with cancer. In addition, separate guidelines relate to major prevention and screening topics and another set of pathways focuses on the major supportive care areas.
more...less...
The NCCN Guidelines are composed of recommendations based on the best evidence available at the time they are derived. Because new data are published continuously, it is essential that the NCCN Guidelines also be continuously updated and revised to reflect new data and new clinical information.

Mobile Healthcare Apps

AIDSinfo HIV/AIDS Glossary App for iPhones
The AIDSinfo HIV/AIDS Glossary is a powerful tool that provides mobile access to over 850 pertinent HIV/AIDS glossary terms in both English and Spanish.
AIDSinfo Mobile
From the USA's National Institutes of Health, this offers the latest federally approved HIV/AIDS medical practice guidelines, HIV treatment and prevention clinical trials, and other research information.
ChemSpider App for iPhones
ChemSpider Mobile is a free iOS app (iPhone, iPod, iPad) for searching the ChemSpider online chemical database. It provides the ability to search by drawing a chemical structure, or entering a compound name. Search results are shown in a list showing structure and names.
DailyMed Mobile
From the USA's National Library of Medicine, DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts)
Embryo App for iPhones
Visually explore human embryo development with the Embryo app.
Epocrates Rx
This application allows quick access to thousands of drug monographs, formularies, drug-drug interactions, a pill identifier tool, and more.
iRadiology
iRadiology allows for quick review of classic radiology cases during rounds or clinical rotations. iRadiology Classics Collection is a compendium of over 500 unique images demonstrating the classic radiological findings of a multitude of abnormalities.
LactMed App for Mobile Phones
Need to know more about drugs and breastfeeding? LactMed can help. Find information about maternal and infant drug levels, possible effects on lactation and on breastfed infants, and alternative drugs to consider.
Medscape
Some features of Medscape from WebMD are:
Original, professional medical content, including review articles, journal commentary, expert columns, patient education articles, book reviews, and more.
Micromedex
This free app contains comprehensive drug information and is backed by an unbiased editorial process. Learn more at http://www.micromedex.com/mobile/ - Android version coming soon.
NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology - Android
Free Android app
The NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology (NCCN Guidelines) – the recognized standard for clinical policy in oncology are comprehensive and frequently updated clinical practice guidelines.
NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology - Itunes
Free iPhone app
The NCCN Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology (NCCN Guidelines) – the recognized standard for clinical policy in oncology are comprehensive and frequently updated clinical practice guidelines.
more...less...
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/nccn-guidelines/id560023797?mt=8
New England Journal of Medicine
The latest medical research findings, review articles, and editorial opinion on a wide variety of topics of importance to biomedical science and clinical practice, from the New England Journal of Medicine.
PubMed Mobile
Provides a simplified, mobile-friendly Web interface to access PubMed. PubMed contains millions of article citations from thousands of biomedical journals. Many citations include abstracts.
Radiation Emergency Medical Management (REMM) App for Mobile Phones
Downloadable application providing health care providers with guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of radiation injuries during radiation and nuclear emergencies. Available for multiple types of mobile devices including Windows Mobile, Apple iPhone and iPod touch (iPad compatible), Android, and Blackberry devices.
Radiology 2.0: One Night in the ED
Radiology 2.0 is a series of cases that allow the user to simulate reading CT scans at a PACS workstation.
Wireless System for Emergency Responders (WISER) App for Mobile Phones
Stand-alone application (or downloadable application) to assist emergency responders in hazardous materials incidents. Available for multiple types of mobile devices including Windows Mobile, Apple iPhone and iPod touch (iPad compatible), Palm OS PDAs, and Blackberry (Internet connectivity required) devices.

Clinical Trials

ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. This information should be used in conjunction with advice from health care professionals.
Cancer.gov - Clinical Trials Directory
Search the USA's National Cancer Institute listing of 8,000+ clinical trials now accepting participants, or use more search options to search the set of 19,000+ clinical trials that are no longer recruiting.
WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform - Search Portal
From the WHO, the ICTRP Search Portal aims to provide a single point of access to information about ongoing and completed clinical trials. It provides a searchable database containing the trial registration data sets made available by data providers around the world meeting criteria for content and quality control.
WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform - Search Portal (MOBILE Version)
Cell, Mobile, Smartphone, or iPhone version of the WHO trials portal.

UCI/Hutchinson Center Cancer Alliance

About UCI/Hutchinson Center Cancer Alliance

In 2004, Dr. Corey Casper of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center initiated a collaboration with Dr. Jackson Orem, Director of the Uganda Cancers Institute (UCI) that became known as the UCI/Hutchinson Center Cancer Alliance.

Learn more at http://www.fhcrc.org/science/vidd/programs/upcid/.

Drug Info

DailyMed
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA approved labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements.
more...less...
Other information about prescription drugs may also be available. NLM regularly processes data files uploaded from FDA's system and provides and maintains this Web site for the public to use in accessing the information. Additional information about medicines is available on NLM's MedlinePlus Web site http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/medicines.html.
LactMed
A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.
more...less...
A database of drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Statements of the American Academy of Pediatrics concerning a drug’s compatibility with breastfeeding are provided, as are suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced.
MedlinePlus Drug Info
Provided by the National Library of Medicine, this offers prescription and over-the-counter medication information from AHFS® Consumer Medication Information, a product of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).
NCI Drug Dictionary
The NCI Drug Dictionary contains technical definitions and synonyms for drugs/agents used to treat patients with cancer or conditions related to cancer.
NCI's Drug Information Summaries
Provide consumer-friendly info about certain drugs that are approved by the FDA to treat cancer or conditions related to cancer. For each drug, topics covered include side effects, approval information, and ongoing clinical trials.
Pillbox - Beta Version
Pillbox combines pharmaceutical data from the FDA and NLM with high resolution images, enabling rapid identification of unknown medications. This system is designed for use by emergency physicians, first responders, other health care providers, Poison Control Center staff, and concerned citizens.
more...less...
The National Library of Medicine (NLM), with support from the U.S. FDA, has released a beta version of Pillbox, a resource intended to enhance patient safety via an identification and reference system for solid dosage medications.

Pillbox combines pharmaceutical data from the FDA and NLM with high resolution images, enabling rapid identification of unknown medications. This system is designed for use by emergency physicians, first responders, other health care providers, Poison Control Center staff, and concerned citizens.

Pillbox allows users to identify solid dosage medications based on several physical characteristics: imprint (characters or number printed on a medication), shape, color, size, and scoring. Users are shown thumbnail images of possible matches which are continually updated as additional information is entered. Once a medication has been identified, further information is provided, including brand/generic name, ingredients, and DEA schedule. Links to NLM drug information resources are also offered.

NLM has made a great effort to verify the authenticity of each image. However, the Pillbox images are not part of the Structured Product Label (FDA-approved drug label) and have not been verified by each manufacturer. For this reason, Pillbox is not currently intended for clinical use

Dietary Supplements

FDA CFSAN - Dietary Supplements
The FDA/Center for Food Safety & Applied Nutrition's consumer information and warnings about dietary supplements.
more...less...
FDA regulates dietary supplements under a different set of regulations than those covering "conventional" foods and drug products (prescription and Over-the-Counter). Under the Dietary Supplement Health and Education Act of 1994 (DSHEA), the dietary supplement manufacturer is responsible for ensuring that a dietary supplement is safe before it is marketed. FDA is responsible for taking action against any unsafe dietary supplement product after it reaches the market. Generally, manufacturers do not need to register their products with FDA nor get FDA approval before producing or selling dietary supplements.* Manufacturers must make sure that product label information is truthful and not misleading.
NIH NCCAM Dietary and Herbal Supplements Info
NCCAM, the leading US agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine, presents general information on dietary supplements, descriptions of specific supplements & info on clinical trials.
more...less...
The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.
Understanding Dietary Supplements, Research Resources, find NCCAM Clinical Trials and links to other resources.
NIH ODS (Office of Dietary Supplements)
ODS studies the role of dietary products in health care, conducts research and collects and disseminates scientific data on nutritional products.
more...less...
Note the Dietary Supplement fact sheets, Nutrition Recommendation reports and tables, and International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS).
MedlinePlus: Dietary Supplements
News, informations about clinical trials and research and detailed descriptions of specific dietary supplements and medical conditions.
FNIC (Food and Nutrition Information Center) Dietary Supplements
General info about dietary and nutritional supplements, government regulations, labeling requirements, consumer reports and industry regulation. Also find resources on individual Macronutrients, Phytonutrients and Vitamins and Minerals.
more...less...
Find links to general information about dietary and nutritional supplements from both governmental agencies and non-governmental organizations. Includes resource lists, individual supplement information, and links to resources for assessing supplement use. Includes information on government regulations, labeling requirements, consumer reports and industry regulation information. Resources on individual:
* Macronutrients - includes general and specific resources on carbohydrates, proteins, fiber, fats and cholesterol, water, as well as interactive tools.
* Phytonutrients - includes general information, government-related sites, and resources on specific phytonutrients such as tea, lycopene, and phytoestrogens.
* Vitamins and Minerals - includes general information as well as resources for specific vitamins and minerals.

Toxicology Databases - for Researchers

ACToR: Aggregated Computational Toxicology Resource
ACToR is one of many EPA tools available for those interested in chemical toxicity to find data about potential chemical risks to human health and the environment.
more...less...
The data warehouse:
* Is a collection of databases collated or developed by the US EPA National Center for Computational Toxicology (NCCT).
* Aggregates data from over 500 public sources on over 500,000 environmental chemicals searchable by chemical name, other identifiers, and by chemical structure.
* Data includes chemical structure, physico-chemical values, in vitro assay data and in vivo toxicology data.
* Chemicals include, but are not limited to, high and medium production volume industrial chemicals, pesticides (active and inert ingredients), and potential ground and drinking water contaminants.
* Provides a connection to another EPA chemical screening tool called ToxCast, a multi-year, multi-million dollar effort that uses advanced science tools to help efficiently (~$20K per chemical) understand biological processes impacted by chemicals that may lead to adverse health effects.
CCRIS (Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System)
A scientifically evaluated and fully referenced data bank, developed and maintained by the National Cancer Institute (NCI). It contains over 9,000 chemical records with carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, tumor promotion, and tumor inhibition test results.
more...less...
Data are derived from studies cited in primary journals, current awareness tools, NCI reports, and other special sources. Test results have been reviewed by experts in carcinogenesis and mutagenesis.
CPDB (Carcinogenic Potency Database)
The Carcinogenic Potency Database (CPDB) is a unique and widely used international resource of the results of 6540 chronic, long-term animal cancer tests on 1547 chemicals.
more...less...
This database was developed at the University of California, Berkeley, and Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory. It provides standardized analyses of the results of 6540 chronic, long-term animal cancer tests that have been conducted since the 1950's and reported in the general published literature or by the National Cancer Institute and the National Toxicology Program.
DART/ETIC (Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology/Environmental Teratology Information Center)
DART/ETIC is a bibliographic database on the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET®). It covers teratology and other aspects of developmental and reproductive toxicology.
more...less...
It contains over 200,000 references to literature published since 1965. DART/ETIC is funded by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, the National Center for Toxicological Research of the Food and Drug Administration, and the NLM.
GENE-TOX (Genetic Toxicology)
A toxicology database created by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) containing genetic toxicology test results on over 3,200 chemicals.
Haz-Map Occupational Health Database
Haz-Map offers specific information about the possible effects of exposure to chemical and biological agents used in industry, on the job and at home.
more...less...
Search by Hazardous Agents, Industries, Occupational Diseases, Job Tasks, High Risk Jobs, Processes, Symptoms/Findings and Hobbies/Activities.
National Pesticide Information Center
Hosted at Oregon State University, and sponsored by the US Environmental Protection agency, the NPIC provides information about pesticides and related topics to enable people to make informed decisions.
Overview of Environmental Health & Toxicology Info for Researchers from the US DHHS
The Division of Specialized Information Services (SIS) produces information resources on a range of topics covering toxicology, environmental health, HIV/AIDS, drug and consumer product information, and disaster/emergency preparedness and response.
more...less...
The Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) component covers toxicology, environmental health, and chemistry. The Outreach and Special Populations Branch (OSPB) seeks to improve access to quality and accurate health information by underserved and special populations. The Disaster Information Management Research Center (DIMRC) helps provide online and downloadable information resources relevant to national emergency preparedness, response, and recovery efforts. SIS also coordinates many of the National Library of Medicine's HIV/AIDS information activities.
TOXLINE
A bibliographic database providing comprehensive coverage of the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals from 1965 to the present. TOXLINE contains over 3 million citations.
TOXNET
TOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork) is a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas.
more...less...
It is managed by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) in the Division of Specialized Information Services (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). TOXNET provides free access to and easy searching of 15 NLM databases. See http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/toxnetfs.html for details.
ToxCast/ToxRefDB: Toxicity Reference Database
ToxRefDB was developed by the National Center for Computational Toxicology (NCCT) in partnership with EPA's Office of Pesticide Programs (OPP), to store data from in vivo animal toxicity studies.
more...less...
The database:
# Contains pesticide registration toxicity data that used to be stored as hard-copy and scanned documents by OPP.
# Currently includes chronic, cancer, sub-chronic, developmental, and reproductive studies on hundreds of chemicals (many are pesticide active ingredients).
# Provides data that is accessible and computable.
# Provides reference toxicity data for Agency research and retrospective analyses.
# Provides toxicity endpoints for development of ToxCast predictive signatures that will be used for primary research applications.
# Contains only certain hazard information and does not represent all information needed for a complete risk assessment for pesticides or other chemicals.
# Effect designation should not be taken as determination that existing EPA risk assessments and risk management decisions need revisions. For example, in addition to studies in ToxRefDB, for purposes of registration or tolerance determination, EPA evaluated information on other mammalian toxicity effects, metabolism, aquatic life, wildlife and plant toxicity studies, and use patterns, environmental fate and persistence, and pesticide residue levels.